The New Word to Describe the Life of a Writer

conundrumnal: The state of being in a persistent paradox; A situation presenting a consistent conundrum

American Politicians  spend too much time raising money. They don’t have time to make good policy, or to care how it affects us.

If I want to spend more time writing, I am going to have to figure out how to sell my book, but if I spend my time selling it, I won’t have time to write. One of the things I like to do is make up new words. There are a few in my book. Today I want to introduce you to the word conundrumnal, because this problem of having to spend time selling books and not being able to write them is conundrumnal. I’m not saying this is original thought, but I don’t see that word in use. Certainly not in dictionaries.

war and vegetables a chronicle of the last gas station book cover

click that

My book is now in the Premium Catalogue at Smashwords, which means I can officially stop calling myself a Writer and start calling myself an Author if I feel like it. It might be a little pretentious,  but probably not presumptuous. It would be pretentious to call myself an author if I started referring to myself as such before at least selling a thousand books. You get the point though. I wrote a book, seventy two thousand plus words.

Below is a list of ways people all over the world can get my book if they find clicking the link above to be too easy. I am intrigued by this. What a great system Smashwords made. Technically, pretty much everyone on Earth can get my book now. What if they did? Then I could spend more time writing.

Kobo powers the ebook stores of multiple ebook retailers around the world.  Simply by distributing to Kobo via Smashwords, your books may also reach WH Smith in the UK, FNAC in France and Portugal, Livraria Cultura in Brazil, Angus & Robertson Bookworld in Australia, Bookworld in Australia, Indigo in Canada, Collins in Australia, Feltrinelli in Italy, bol.com in the Netherlands, Paper Plus in New Zealand, Play in Great Britain, Rakuten in Japan, Buy.com (now Rakuten) in the US, PriceMinister in France, Crossword and WHSmith in India, Eason & Son, Ltd in Ireland, Mondadori in Italy, The Paper Plus Group in New Zealand, National Book Store in the Philippines, Pick ‘N Pay in South Africa, La Central in Spain, Dogan in Turkey, participating Booksellers Association Stores in the UK, and participating American Booksellers Association stores in the US, and Orbile in Mexico (Orbile is a partnership between two large Mexican book retailers, Porrúa and Gandhi).

Inktera operates retail site Inktera.com and powers multiple apps across iOS and Google Play including Athanatos, Book Bronco, Caffeine Nights, Cricket Books, Digital Pretium, Digital Turbine eBooks, EverAfter, IndieReader, Inktera Books, MediaRewards, Morgan Rice, Oasis eBooks, OneClique, TribBooks, Versent Books, and EverAfter (app for romance); and operates Android ebook store apps for Cricket Wireless and Asus.

Baker & Taylor operates Blio, an ebook store and also operates Axis360, a major supplier of ebook checkout systems to public libraries.

Gardners, also mentioned above, powers hundreds of small white label ebook stores; operates Hive.co.uk which powers ecommerce operations for hundreds of physical stores; operates Askews & Holts, a large supplier of ebooks to public libraries in the UK and other countries; and operates VLeBooks which powers ebook checkout systems for academic libraries.

-