NaNoWriMo: National Novel Writing Month (Nano)

A few days ago I started NaNoWriMo: http://nanowrimo.org/participants/robert-run. the idea is to write 50,000 words of a novel in one month. I am on pace to finish on Nov.22. I have found that doing a public announcement, with accountability and a group of others is the best way to actually follow through. if you go to that link you can learn more and read an excerpt.

I have had this thing outlined, the character sketches, locations and about 3.5K words done for a while, and for most writers, we are not so keen about our work, as in, never satisfied, so just powering through it is  as good a strategy as any. Then there were  other projects that seemed like a nice diversion, like Hank Rally, and becoming more involved in my virtual assistant work to increase cash flow.

Right now I am at 5780 words, and you are welcome to follow my progress.

I also want to take a moment to thank, and encourage my writing buddies at “NaNo”:

Because we are bugging and nagging and trying to keep each other on track.

Part of my progress going forward includes updating this blog every morning. So let’s see if I can be true to myself and my buddies.

While you are at it you can check out The Day of Focused Moments.

eyeball

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: National Novel Writing Month (Nano)

  1. Reblogged this on Ok, you can stop thinking now. and commented:

    A few days ago I started NaNoWriMo: The idea is to write 50,000 words of a novel in one month. I am on pace to finish on Nov.22. I have found that doing a public announcement, with accountability and a group of others is the best way to actually follow through. if you go to that link you can learn more and read an excerpt.

  2. Thanks for the rah-rah, Robert 🙂 A good support network makes a huge difference–if not in the actual process of translating thought into words on the screen, very much so in the enjoyment of it. Glad to be sharing this 2013 NaNo journey with you!

    • The best things about this for me is 1. The public accountability, and 2. forming the habit via schedule and expectation. I’m glad too! thanks for being my writing buddy!.

-

