Peace is possible

Semitic kidsI grew up in Southeastern Michigan, near Detroit. Actually, right on the City Limits line. I was actually born in the City of Detroit. I am very proud of that. I get more proud of that each year.

One of the things I remember is learning a really cool lesson from someone who was teaching me about immigration. I do not remember who it is now. It was a long time ago.

What they told me is people come to the United States for many reasons. Sometimes they come because they are sick and tired of the fighting where they live. Sometimes people move to the US and purposely live in proximity to other groups of people who, if they were back in their homeland would be their enemies. They do this because they are familiar with them, and they love them, and they want to be at peace with them. In the US, they have the option of peace. Sometimes maybe they do not like them, but at least they do not have to be at war with them. Which is not a bad decision to make. I mean, be realistic here, you cannot like everyone. I never met anyone who likes everyone.

Of course this is an irony, considering the fact that the US is a Military Empire that pretty much seems to love war, and loves to create strife among people in other parts of the world if it can mean some quick profits for one of our Government’s Corporate Sponsors. But the point is, peace is possible. People actually move here to be away from war, even though this Country seems to be in love with it.

I also lived right next door to another pretty cool town, this town has a high concentration of Jewish people, there are lots of Jewish Americans and Israeli immigrants. Growing populations in that part of the Country were the Arab and Persian populations, as well as the Palestinians. Plenty of Muslim people were moving into that town with so many Jewish people. In fact, I remember riding my bike passed one intersection all the time. There was a Mosque on one side of the street and a Temple on the other. How nice for them, they do not have to be at war. I am sure they have disagreements about what is happening in the place that is “back home” for them, but they live here, and they are not interested in bringing that war to the US. They moved here so they could live among each other in peace. I can totally get down with that.

I’m way beyond grateful to have the influence of so many people from all over the world, it is awe inspiring to be so lucky. You have no idea how often I just stop what I am doing and reflect on all the far out people I have met from all over the world, and from right here in the US, and just relish in my good fortune. I’m a lucky f@&#in’ Pollack.

I wish for the people in the Middle East that they can learn some lessons from my neighbors and friends, their American Cousins, I really do, I’m not kidding. They would be so much better for it. I know I am.

Have some nice Holidays.

PEACE.

I am doing one post per day for the month of November, hopefully. Inspired by NaBloPoMo.

This is post #20

You should subscribe to this blog to get excerpts from my Novel and other good stuff.

3 thoughts on “Peace is possible

  1. Pingback: This was Thanksgiving 2012

  2. Pingback: Read ebooks on your surface tablet, ipads, kindle and nook

  3. Pingback: This was Thanksgiving 2012 | road reads

-

